FriendshipFrameQuilters
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Star of the Orient

Go down

Star of the Orient Empty Star of the Orient

Post  Admin Sat May 08, 2010 4:37 pm

Star of the Orient

When I begin to cut out my pieces for the paper piecing, I am mindful that PP takes up little bit of fabric, much like the phrase of "use a SCANT 1/4" seam" we hear so much about. I usually look carefully at my pattern & find out the outside pieces & lightly mark them (usually with a wavey line or even a couple of X's) in some manner & I leave a little extra on those outer edges. I would rather waste a number of threads than lack one thread having enough?

I would also strongly suggest that you lightly mark your paper pieces with a symbol or letter to designate background or color before you begin to piece, saves lots of aggravation later on(ask me how I know this?)
Since my background is white (actually "natural") I usually mark mine with B for background or W for white & C for color , if I feel the need to mark both pieces. (Sometimes I am so aggravated, I feel the need to DARKLY write the whole word. Smile)

Both A & B patterns in 'Star of the Orient' have numerical numbers of 1 & 2 on them. 1 is the first piece you position & 2 is the second piece you sew. PIECE ONE is WHITE (W)or BACKGROUND (B) on both patterns on 'Star of the Orient'. Piece 2 is color(C) Please, it makes for a happier time if you mark them NOW.(You should have figured out why I am stressing this by now! Sad )

This is a wonderful paper piecing project & even I found it easy to do! There are 2 or 3 little ole easy steps to do to make it even better that I have jotted down for you here.
I don't think you will need them but if you do, here they are to refresh your memory:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~